Head South: Punks / New Romantics

£25.00

Clear
SKU: HSNR Category:

Description

On this tour we will visit the venues and sites that were instrumental to Punk in Brum and then became the focal point of the New Romantic movement and produced one of the biggest bands in the world, Duran Duran.

We’ll begin by visiting the site of the squat where Girls on Film and Rio would be written and rehearsed, but not by Duran Duran! We’ll travel into Balsall Heath, passing the home of UK Techno Network Records and the famous Moseley School of Art, home to ex students Roy Wood, Christine McVie, UB40 and other notable Brummies. We’ll head into Moseley and Kings Heath to visit the house where one of the UK’s great albums was recorded, the venue where legend has it Morrissey first declared that was how he wanted to be known, John Taylor’s Saturday job place of work and the venue where UB40 played their first ever gig. Heading back to the City Centre we’ll pass the site of Joy Division’s last ever gig and Dexys Midnight Runners’ squat before visiting the site of two seminal clubs: Barbarellas and The Rum Runner, home to Duran Duran, UB40, Dexys Midnight Runners and The Beat!

Additional information

Date

Sat 27th May 2017 2.30pm, Sun 28th May 2017 11am, Sat 3rd June 2017 2.30pm, Sun 28th June 2017 11am, Sat 10th June 2017 2.30pm, Sun 11th June 2017 11am, Sat 17th June 2017 2.30pm, Sun 18th June 2017 11am, Sat 24th June 2017 2.30pm, Sun 25th June 2017 11am

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Head South: Punks / New Romantics”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *